Timeline Figures: Make Them or Buy Them?


"Should I make the timeline pieces or should I buy them?" Is the question a hand.

PREPACKAGED TIMELINE FIGURES (buying them)

PROS
Time saver (a biggie)
Fancy, nice figures to color in

CONS
They don’t always have all the figures you are studying.
It stiffles their creatability.
Using someone else’s "thinking caps" (stiffles brain storming abiliteis)

MAKING TIMELINE FIGURES

PROS
It open up creativity in the children.
The timeline becomes personal to them.
When the child creates their own pieces/symbols, through brainstorming, they are more likely to retain the information in the lesson. This will help them in time of review.
You can always find the right one to use.
Talents get sparked, widened and enhanced!
INEXPENSIVE

CONS
Time consuming in searching for figures to use.

My perspective:
In the beginning of our homeschooling adventure, I chose the best made ones on the maket. Hey, I am a single mom who not only sole income provider but also the teacher… I chose the route of time-saving with the expense. At that time, I chose to purchase premades ones because I didn’t have time to give additional instruction time.

Looking back, I now feel that was wrong! We did switch. It was hard to get the creative juices flowing, but it is well worth it!

I recommend creating your own timeline figures to use!

This entry was posted in Timeline. Bookmark the permalink.