Manners – Correcting someone else


Last week, I was teaching IEW Writing class and wrote a paragraph up on the board. I did misspell a word, and a child caught it and he corrected me for it. It was no big deal. I thanked him for bringing the spelling mistake to my attention. His mother corrected him for his actions.For a couple of days, that really laid heavy on my heart. I wasn’t sure why, so I started praying about it. I know that each of us needs a teachable Spirit. Not to “shoot down” other comments but to take their words and pray about it. Search God for an answer. Is it possible that God is using that person to bring correction to me? He has been known to do that…

But, it was more than that!

The more I felt the Lord telling me that was a “teachable” moment for my child. So, I turned this into a “Life Lesson” for myself . The real point behind this is … Is it wrong to correct others?

I believe this is what the Lord showed me.

The answer is simple, No, it is not wrong to correct another adult.

If you correct someone in a criticized way, you just lost all ground. That person wouldn’t listen to you if they wanted to. Criticism can lead to an explosive behavior.

However correction is an exact term and is Biblically mandated. (See 1 Timothy 5:20; 2 Timothy 4:2; Titus 1:13; 2:15 and Revelation 3:19).

But caution needs to taken. The last thing you want to do is to offend another brother or sister so this what I suggest to do before correction:
1. Examine yourself first. This Scripture says it all…
Thou hypocrite, cast out first the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.” ~ Matthew 7:5 (ASV)

2. Make sure you’re part of the solution and not part of the problem. If you think the folks who are doing the work of the ministry (rather church or home school) are going about it all wrong, before you say anything, you need to ask yourself this question. “Am I willing to walk the walk or do I just want to talk the talk?”

3. When you correct others, be respectful. James suggests that it’s a serious blunder to praise God and curse men.
With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the similitude of God. Out of the same mouth proceed blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so.” ~ James 3:9-10 (NKJV)

4. Don’t over do it. I read in the news article this week of a teenager who had a blow tire and his vehicle veered to the wrong side of the road, and then he went to correct himself, avoiding a head on collision, and over corrected himself and flipped the vehicle. You can certainly apply that principle in correcting other adults. If you over corect them, it might seem that you are out for blood. This isn’t what you want.

Be prayed up before approaching the person. Ask God to put the Words in your mouth. In a moments time, you can shatter any relationship that took years to build. If you do that too many times to too many people, you’re going o live a very lonely life.

This entry was posted in Manners. Bookmark the permalink.