Praying through the Scriptures


At the beginning of the Bible at Genesis 1:3, notice that it starts with, “Then God said…”

In verse 6 it says again, “Then God said…”

In verse 9, the same thing. “Then God said…”

God created the heavens and the earth by speaking them into existence. By praying the scriptures out loud you are speaking God’s will for your life into existence.

You can pray the Scriptures silently, if you choose. However, by speaking the Verses out loud will increase your faith.

“So faith comes from hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ.” ~ Romans 10:17 (NASB)

The repeated word in this verse is “hearing.” Now, I do not believe that it is a misprint. I believe that it says it this way to make a point. The point is to hear the word of GOD to increase your faith. I also believe you can ask for faith when you need it. (John 14:13; Luke 11:11) I am going to save this topic for another article.

1 John 5:14, which tells us we can have confidence in God. He not only hears our prayers but He promises to answer them when we pray in line with His will. He quickly performs His Word.

Hebrews 4:12 says that God’s Word is alive and powerful, sharper than a two-edged sword. When we speak and pray the Scriptures, we are coming into agreement with God, and His power is released to answer our prayers.

A Win-Win Situation

We are claiming God’s promises when we pray Scriptures. We not only build our faith, but we move mountains in the heavens, thereby offering the pleasing sweet aroma of faith unto God. As God answers our prayers, we grow in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. The person receiving the blessing or the answered prayers has their faith increased as a result. It is a win-win situation!

How to pray Scriptures?
The idea is to personalize a text to yourself (if in private) or a group (if in public). When praying Scriptures for others, then change “me” or “you” with “us” or “we”.  Best in this venue are Scriptures that are prayer-like to begin with.

Here are some Scriptures that I use:

“Thank You for newness of life-‘And I shall give them one heart and shall put a new spirit within them. Then they will be My people and I shall be their God.'” (Ezek. 11:19-20)

“We hold onto the promise-‘Though ‘there be no fruit on the vines, and the field produce no food…yet I will exult in the Lord, I will rejoice in the God of my salvation. The Lord God is my strength, and He has made my feet like hind’s feet and makes me walk on my high places.'” (Hab. 3:18-19)

“I agree with Your Word that says-‘Not by might, nor by power, but by My spirit, says the Lord of hosts.'” (Zech. 4:6)

“Thank you, Lord, for Your provision–‘Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse. And test Me now in this, says the Lord of hosts, “If I will not open for you the windows of heaven and pour out for you a blessing until there is no more need.”‘” (Zech 3:10)

“We rejoice to hear Your promise, Lord-‘Fear not, for you will not be put to shame’ neither feel humiliated, for you will not be disgraced…for your husband is your maker, whose name is the Lord of hosts.'” (Is. 54:4)

“Thank You, for the reassurance that-‘No weapon that is formed against you shall prosper, and every tongue that accuses you in judgment, you will condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their vindication is from me,’ declares the Lord.'” (Is. 54:17)

“Everywhere I send you, you shall go, and all that I command you, you shall speak. Do not be afraid of them. For I am with you to deliver you. Then the Lord… touched my mouth… “Behold, I have put My words in your mouth.” (Jer. 1:7-9)

My challenge to you is this… to pray scripture. To find some Scriptures for your situation use a Concordance or a Topical Bible.

This entry was posted in Prayers. Bookmark the permalink.