Why I Homeschool


All Scripture is quoted in NASB unless notated.

…as an act of obedience to God.

Does the LORD delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices as much as in obeying the voice of the LORD?  To obey is better than sacrifice…” ~ I Samuel 15:22

… Then render to Caesar the things that are Caesar’s; and to God the things that are God’s.” ~ Matthew 22:21

…to serve God.

…as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.” ~ Joshua 24:15

…to train my daughter in righteousness AND in life skills.

Train up a child in the way he should go, even when he is old he will not depart from it.” ~ Proverbs 22:6

…to discover the God-given calling and raise them to fulfill it by directing lessons to cultivate passion within them to pursue God.

Also, just as spiritual gifts need to be fanned into flame, so, too, do gifts bestowed upon us during our physical formation by God:

…fan into flame the gift of God.” 2 Timothy 1:6

…to encourage my daughter to be stewards of the gifts and talents that God has given to her.

The Parable of the Talents, Matthew 25:14-30.

…for the glory of God.

Whether, then, you eat or drink or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” ~ I Corinthians 10:31

...to teach my daughter that God is Creator.

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.” ~ Genesis 1:1

…to teach my daughter that God is their Creator.

For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, and my soul knows it very well.” ~ Psalm 139:13, 14

…to teach my daughter to love the Lord their God with all their heart and soul and strength every possible moment.

The LORD is our God, the LORD is one! You shall love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand and they shall be as frontals on your forehead. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.” ~Deuteronomy 6:4-9

…to teach my daughter that Scripture thoroughly equips her for every good work.

…and that from childhood you have known the sacred writings which are able to give you the wisdom that leads to salvation through faith which is in Christ Jesus. All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.” ~ 2 Timothy 3:15-17

…to teach my daughter that God will take care of ALL our needs, if we seek God first and His righteousness.

But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” ~ Matthew 6:33

Also see Daniel, chapter 1

…to teach my daughter the fear of the Lord.

You shall fear the LORD your God; and you shall serve Him…” ~ Deuteronomy  10:20

The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, fools despise wisdom and instruction.” ~ Proverbs 1:7

This entry was posted in Home Discipleship Tips. Bookmark the permalink.