Is there a hidden message in this sign?


I received an email of the most funniest church signs. Some of them were just plain errors,  while some were funny, and yet others were thought provoking. This one here really took me back some years of the lesson the Lord showed me and I wanted to share it with those who seek to read it.

Is there a hidden message in this sign?

No. Just some wise instruction for those who want to hear.

A few years back when I was still married, I was such a contentious wife! Oh, I was the worst of the worst… the biggest nag in town. I had to be broken before I would listen to those around me. In my brokenness, I turned to Him for help. He began to mold me and shape me… the potter and the clay. He showed me Scripture that brought quickening to my spirit, and yet sickness to the pit of my stomach. It was through His Word, His grace, His love for me that change began to happen.

The Apostle James was so correct when he wrote:

“But no one can tame the tongue; it is a restless evil and full of deadly poison.With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God; from the same mouth come both blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be this way.” ~ James 3:8-10 (NASB)

How many times have you inserted your foot into your mouth or spoken things that you wish you shouldn’t have said?  “The mouth of the righteous flows with wisdom, but the perverted tongue will be cut out.” Prov. 10:31. “There is one who speaks rashly like thrusts of a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.” Prov. 12:18. “He who guards his mouth and his tongue guards his soul from trouble.” Prov. 21:23.

This statement is clear. What you say is VERY important! “For by your words you shall be justified, and by your words you shall be condemned.” Matt. 12:37. “Not what enters into the mouth that defiles the man, but what proceeds out of the mouth, this defiles the man.” Matt. 15:11. “…put them all aside; anger, wrath, malice, slander and abusive speech….” Col. 3:8.

With many words transgression is unavoidable.” Prov. 10:19.

If one gives an answer before he hears, it is his folly and shame. (Proverbs 18:13)

We must be good listeners! “But blessed are your eyes, because they see; and your ears, because they hear. For truly I say to you, that many prophets and righteous men desired to see what you see, and did not see it; and to hear what you hear, and did not hear it.” Matt. 13:16-17. You will need an “ear to hear,” which means listening and desiring to gain the complete wisdom that the Bible has to offer.

Are you quiet long enough to hear Him speaking? “’Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him, and he with Me.” Revelation 3:20

This you know, my beloved brethren But everyone must be quick to hear, slow to speakhears the word and understands it; who indeed bears fruit and brings forth, some a hundredfold, some sixty, and some thirty.” and slow to anger; for the anger of man does not achieve the righteousness of God.” James 1: 19-20 “And the one on whom seed was sown on the good soil, this is the man who hears the word and understands it; who indeed bears fruit and brings forth, some a hundredfold, some sixty, and some thirty.” Matthew 13:23.

Just think of the fruit we can bear~

This entry was posted in Encouragement. Bookmark the permalink.