Open My Eyes That I May See


Hymnal History

This month we are focusing on Alertness as our character focus. This hymn really fits with the focus because the hymn ask for God’s help in seeing, in hearing, and in sharing.

Let’s take a look at the words of this hymn:

Lyrics

1
Open my eyes, that I may see
Glimpses of truth Thou hast for me;
Place in my hands the wonderful key
That shall unclasp and set me free.
Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready, my God, Thy will to see;
Open my eyes,
illumine me, Spirit Divine!

2
Open my ears that I may hear
Voices of truth Thou sendest clear;
and while the wavenotes fall on my ear,
Everything false will disappear.
Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready, my God, Thy will to see;
Open my ears, illumine me, Spirit Divine!

3
Open my mouth, and let me bear
Gladly the warm truth everywhere;
Open my heart, and let me prepare
Love with Thy children thus to share.
Silently now I wait for Thee,
Ready, my God, Thy will to see;
Open my heart, illumine me, Spirit Divine!

Clara Scott - Mme.Maria Vegara

This hymn, Open My Eyes That I May See, was first published in 1895. The words and the music of this hymn were written by Clara H. Fiske Scott. She was born in Elk Grove, Illinois on December 3, 1841. Clara attended a musical institute by C.M. Cady in Chicago in 1856. She taught music in 1859 at the Ladies’ Seminary at Lyons, Iowa. In 1861, Clara married Henry Clay Scott.

In 1882, she published The Royal Anthem Book of over three-hundred pages of hymns that she had written. This book was the first anthem collection ever published by a woman. While visiting Dubuque, Iowa, her life ended tragically when se was thrown from a buggy pulled by a runaway horse on June 21, 1897.

Scripture Reference:

And Elisha prayed, and said, LORD, I pray thee, open his eyes, that he may see. And the LORD opened the eyes of the young man; and he saw: and, behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire round about Elisha.” ~ 2 Kings 6:17

Open my eye that I may see wonderous things from your Law.” ~ Psalm 119:18

Direct Link for Midi file.

Printable Version (Teacher’s Copy), Click here.

Notebook Pages (Student Copy), click here.

This entry was posted in Hymn Study, WB#1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.